New Shire of Murray council to be sworn in, one new face

Shire of Murray residents have voted in a new council, with one new face joining four existing councillors in being re-elected.

The votes were counted on Saturday, with nine candidates vying for five spots on the Peel council.

Current Shire president David Bolt topped the count with 2227, claiming 16.77 per cent of the total votes to be re-elected.

Deputy president Steve Lee and existing councillors Casey Rose and Ange Rogers also retained their seats, winning four-year terms.

Stuart Kirkham beat closest competitor David Pike by 133 votes to claim the fifth spot, with the new councillor to be handed a two-year term.

The successful candidates will be sworn into office on Thursday ahead of the normal monthly council meeting.

The Shire of Murray had a 25.63 per cent turnout rate.