PFNL 2018: Pinjarra keep hot form alive with big win over Halls Head

Pinjarra picked up their fourth consecutive win when a five-goal bag from Leroy Jetta helped them cruise past Halls Head 16.15 (111) to 3.6 (24) at Sir Ross McLarty Oval on Sunday.

Jetta nailed three in the first half to keep the Tigers on top of a spirited Halls Head outfit but the reigning premiers truly showed their class in the final two quarters, keeping the Lightning goalless in the second half as they romped to a huge win.

Crafty forward Luke Humphries had the visitors on the scoreboard first in the opening term when he snared the day’s first goal, but WAFL premiership teammates Jetta and Rory O’Brien hit back to give Pinjarra a narrow lead at quarter time.

Halls Head’s determination continued in the second quarter where goals from Lachie Kinna and Thomas Smith kept the scores close despite the Tigers threatening to run away with the game with Jetta looking deadly up front.

But Pinjarra’s second-half blitz was merciless, as they kept their hot form rolling with 10 unanswered goals.

By the end of the third the reigning champs led by 42 points, and they managed to keep their guests scoreless in the final term to romp to the 87-point victory.

Brock O’Brien – whose form has been the catalyst for Pinjarra’s streak – continued to impress earning best afield votes, while captain Dean Beswick’s efforts landed him a spot among the side’s top players for the game.

For Halls Head it was Smith getting the nod as his side’s best, while Robert Falkstrom’s outstanding 2018 campaign rolled on.

The Tigers will face Waroona in their annual Mental Health Game next round, while Halls Head make the five-minute road trip to South Mandurah for a game that will prove crucial to both sides’ finals chances.



L. Jetta 5, D. Hardy 2, J. O’Driscoll 2, R. Kerr 2, R. Beswick, B. Gillam, R. O’Brien, C. Milward, B. O’Brien

Halls Head

L. Humphries, L. Kinna, T. Smith



B. O’Brien, L. Jetta, R. Bird, S. Martin, D. Beswick, R. Beswick

Halls Head

T. Smith, R. Falkstrom, B. Constantine, R. Hutson, M. Royal, J. Boardman