Brumbies win from controversial goal decision

FINALS football is heating up on the field with three Peel Football League (PFL) matches to go until a fixture is determined for a chance to win the cup.

The Baldivis Brumbies kicked off their journey for a finals place after a slow starting game against the Pinjarra Tigers at the Brumbies’ home ground resulted in a flash fourth-quarter finish 12.9 (81) – 8.16 (64).

The Tiger’s defence smashed through the home side’s attack as Baldivis struggled to kick the ball through any of the posts resulting in one point for the first quarter.

But the Brumbies came out firing in the second term booting four goals and turning the tide to their favour to lead by one point by the main break.

Pinjarra continued to suffer the onslaught as their delivery into the forward line equalled in poor accuracy as an end result with 14 points and five goals after the third quarter.

Baldivis finished the match with another four-goal effort in the fourth quarter to sprain Pinjarra’s motivation as they go head-to-head with the Halls Head Lightning in round 16.

Brumbies forward Blake Arnold kicked five goals for the match while Peter Agostino booted three goals.

Calum Anderson, Philip Pohlenz-Saw and Gavin Cacic were named best for Baldivis.

Halls Head’s James Staples kicked two goals while Jarryd Lucas, Zeke Gordon and Sean Starkey were named best for their team.

The Mandurah Mustangs continued their road to the preliminary finals as they delivered an unprecedented beating to the Lightning on Sunday at Merlin Street Oval.

Although the win won’t put the Mustangs ahead of Pinjarra or Centrals, both ahead by two points, the 19.10 (124) – 8.14 (62) win determines the effort of finals offering.

Halls Head, leading by one point into the second quarter, were reassured their place on the bottom of the ladder as the second last Mustangs powered through seven goals until the halftime break while the Lightning struggled to kick through posts booting one goals and five points.

Mandurah continued their dominance throughout the game finishing with another seven-goal quarter in the last term.

Mustang forward Justin McKain was named one of the best on ground with his eight goals while Zac Podmore and Jeremy Tournay also bagged a load of goals with four each.

Stephen Irons and Podmore were also named best for the team.

Halls Head captain Braddon Kazakoff booted four goals for his team while Robert Falkstrom, Kayne Winton and Jaysen Sumpton were named best for the Lightning.

The tight match between Mundijong Centrals and Rockingham Rams was thrown into a full proportional meltdown as the Rams rode away with a 53-point win.

Leading by eight points by the half-time break, Rockingham stamped their ladder supremacy into the Centrals with a seven-goal effort in the third quarter while Centrals struggled kicking one goal and one point.

The Rams put an end to the match slowing their attack down but strengthening their defence as Mundijong couldn’t convert more goals losing 13.17 (95) – 6.6 (42).

Rockingham’s Dane Ugle kicked five goals while Dale Roberts also kicked two goals.

Kade Fissioli, Theo Adams and Rowan Arnott were named the best for the Rams.

Mundijong’s Ryan Murphy, Brad Bootsma and Daniel Wilson were the goal scorers for their team with two goals each.

Mark Miller, Bootsma and Wilson were named best for the Centrals.

The Waroona Demons, still feeling the loss to their top ladder counterparts last weekend, came out swinging against the South Mandurah Falcons beating them by more than 100 points at Parnell Street Oval.

The Demons smashed the Falcons with a six-goal second quarter and six more in the last quarter to finish the visitors 18.16 (124) – 2.5 (17).

Waroona’s Alan Wilson booted five goals for his team while Benjamin Matthews-Herald (four) and Lindsay Wilson (three) also kicked their own bag of goals.

Dean Linsay Taylor, Joel Catalano and Courtney Lakay were named best for the Demons.

South Mandurah’s Andrew Haydon and vice-captain Rodney Tregenza were the only goal scorers for their team with one goal each.

Aaron Bombardieri, Thomas Harper and Cameron Hyde were named the best for the Falcons.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide