Ford powers to win in weekend cycling

Tom Ford put in a strong performance to dash to a victory in the West Coast Masters' A-grade racing on Rockingham's Smeaton Way circuit on Sunday.

The race opened with a bang with riders getting off to an aggressive start.

Several attacks were carried out while chasing and counter attacks became commonplace, but Ford managed to whether the storm and about half way through the 50-minute race both he and Wellard rider Shayne Dimmer broke away.

The pair worked well together and had built a solid lead heading into the final stretch of the race.

With just two laps to go, Ford was able to take the lead from a tiring Dimmer and eventually claim the victory. Ryan Wilmott ran in third.

B-grade saw a different style of race, with a breakaway of seven riders forming on the back of the fourth lap.

The pace on the front was furious, outracing the bunch by 10 seconds per lap, and by the end of the 45-minute race the break, which had been reduced from seven to five, held a two-minute lead and came close to lapping the bunch.

In a race to the line Matthew Korten took the win, Joey Rawson was second and Gavin Work third.

The pace was also high in the C-grade, preventing breakaways from forming.

Occasionally a rider would get a small gap, but they were quickly brought back.

In the bunch sprint it was Leda's Rob Cowlings taking the win, with Peter Morris second and Stephen Hesketh third.

D-grade saw Jonathan Akers return to racing after three months off, and it didn't take him long to find a rhythm as he attacked on the first lap.

The bunch were happy to let him go, expecting his lack of race fitness would see him back in a couple of laps.

Akers had other plans, though, and after five laps a few riders started chasing.

The chase made little impression on Akers lead, as he rode away to a convincing win.

Lawrence Fahey led the bunch home for second with John Shattock third.

Riders over the age of 70 took to the track for the E-grade dash, with nine contesting the bunch spring which was won by Pantelis Karagoglou, with Pat Briggs second and Graham Thornton third.

Egrade, to qualify for this grade you need to be 70 years or older. 10 riders took to the start and provided some very close racing, with 9 riders contesting the bunch sprint which was won by Pantelis Karagoglou, with Pat Briggs second and Graham Thornton third.

Next week sees the Peel District Cycling Club racing at the Kwinana Motorplex, while West Coast Masters races in Wangarra.