City of Mandurah elections 2019: Councillors confirmed following vote count

The new-look City of Mandurah council has been confirmed for the next four years after a lengthy campaign process came to a close with votes being counted on Saturday night.

Members of the coastal, east, north and town wards were all named following the count, with plenty of fresh faces joining some previous servants.

Read more:

In the coastal ward, it was Jenny Green and Candice Di Prinzio claiming the two vacancies, with the pair accounting for almost half of the vote between them.

Ms Green led all candidates taking out 23.66 per cent of the count with a total 2008 votes, while Ms Di Prinzio's 1758 votes were good enough for 20.71 per cent, as she came in second more than 400 votes ahead of Bob Pond who missed out after ending the count in third.

Prior to polling, Ms Green promised to focus on a review of the South East Dawesville Channel Foreshore revitalisation plan, while Ms Di Prinzio also flagged environmental preservation as an area of importance.

The east ward provided a closer vote count, with Don Pember taking out victory by just a shade over three per cent.

Mr Pember amassed 1169 votes to claim the sole vacancy ahead of Daniel Wilkins (1035) and Shane Jones (1004).

Pre-existing deputy mayor Caroline Knight claimed an emphatic victory in the north ward to remain on the council, bringing in 2236 votes to claim 27.25 per cent.

She picked up one of the two vacancies with her win, alongside Ahmed Zilani who finished with 1431 votes.

Rounding out the final vacancy was Peter Rogers with a monumental win in the town ward.

Mr Rogers secured almost half the entire count, taking out 49.07 per cent with 1900 votes to remain on the council.

Stay tuned to the Mandurah Mail throughout the week for more coverage on the local council elections.