City of Mandurah: Voters have 22 candidates to choose from in upcoming council election

Twenty-two people will contest six vacancies at the upcoming City of Mandurah council election next month.

Local government elections across Western Australia are scheduled for October 19, with the nomination period now closed.

The City of Mandurah jurisdiction is broken down into four wards.

In the Coastal Ward, there will be two vacancies and seven candidates have nominated - Adriana (Jenny) Green, Bob Pond, Adam Woodage, Brad Bedford, James Lee Yates, Candice Di Prinzio and Bradley Chalke.

In the East Ward, Don Pember, Kerry Beake, Daniel Wilkins and renominating council Shane Jones have put their hats in the ring.

There are two vacancies in the North Ward, with Caroline Knight and Ron Wortley both renominating.

They will be joined by Coral Richards, Ahmed Zilani, Matthew Thompson, Mark Alexander Brzezinski and Gregg Tomlinson-Bell on the ballot paper.

Finally, there are four names to choose from in the Town Ward.

Renominating councillor Peter Rogers is up against Lynne Rowlands, Hayden Burbidge and James Booker.

As the election gets closer, Mandurah Mail will profile all of the candidates to help you make your voting choice.