Boost for Peel region as events provided with funding

Funded: The Back to Pinjarra Commemoration is one of three Peel events to be funded.
Funded: The Back to Pinjarra Commemoration is one of three Peel events to be funded.

Three events in the Peel region have received state government funding for the first time.

A total of 68 events shared in the Regional Events Scheme (RES) funding pool for 2019-20, which is supported by the state government through Tourism Western Australia and Royalties for Regions.

Locally, the Back to Pinjarra Commemoration, National Tasar Sailing Championships and the 2019 Australian Outrigger Canoe Racing Association, both in Mandurah, have received grants.

Throughout the state, the funding boost amounts to $1.08 million.

Tourism minister Paul Papalia said he was happy to be able to provided funding to events in the Peel region.

"This scheme is a fantastic initiative to stimulate tourism in our state's regions," he said.

"These events create a point of difference and a reason for people to get out of the city and discover some of the amazing landscapes and unique experiences in regional WA.

"It's also great to see the Regional Aboriginal Events Scheme fostering the growth of some great Aboriginal tourism businesses, as this is an area of unmet demand for visitors to the state.

"The Regional Events Scheme has helped create a year-round calendar of events with broad appeal for those within the State or visiting WA from elsewhere."

Regional development minister Alannah MacTiernan said RES provided economic and social benefits to regional communities through job creation, tourism and community involvement.

"The successful applicants should be congratulated as these events give host towns an opportunity to showcase their unique part of WA to new audiences," she said.

"The events help to create community pride and skills development within the regions as well as provide an important revenue stream."

The 2020-21 RES round will open in October 2019 and close in December 2019 for events that fall between July 1, 2020 and June 30, 2021.