Centrals overcome early struggles to collect first win of season against Halls Head

Centrals registered their first win of the Peel Football and Netball League season when they absorbed an initial shock from Halls Head to run out 12.13 (85) to 9.5 (59) victors at Mundijong Oval on Saturday.

For the second straight week Halls Head blasted their way to a stunning first quarter before eventually fading late to take a loss.

The Lightning were on song in the first term, tallying five goals as Mitchell Jones and Cameron Gavin worked hard around the ground.

Centrals responded with three of their own to Ryan Henley, Ben Strickland and Zaine Atwell, equaling their entire team tally from last week, but still went quarter time with a two-goal deficit on their hands.

Scoring somewhat dried up in the second term, but Halls Head managed to hold on to a one-goal buffer at half time despite Centrals closing the gap through Brad McPhail and Toby Gianatti.

Heading into half time poised to take the lead, Centrals did exactly that as they came out of the rooms firing.

Brett Hill put in a second consecutive best afield performance while Bruno Faulkner was outstanding, leading the way as Centrals piled up three goals to Halls Head's one through Brendan Erceg and Strickland.

The Lightning stayed in touch until the fourth term, when the home side kicked away with McPhail registering a pair of majors to cap off a strong game up front.

The loss sees Halls Head remain winless through the opening two rounds despite admirable performances against last year's two grand final contenders.

Meanwhile Centrals open their account, and will look to keep the ball rolling when they play Rockingham following their bye weekend.

Halls Head will host Baldivis in their annual Anzac Day clash.



B. Mcphail 3, Z. Atwell 2, B. Strickland 2, B. Erceg 2, T. Gianatti, R. Henley, C. Collard

Halls Head

L. Humphries 3, J. Middleton 2, M. Allen 2, R. Falkstrom, N. Pasco



B. Hill, B. Faulkner, T. Gianatti, C. Lee, B. Strickland, B. Mcphail

Halls Head

M. Jones, C. Gavin, M. Allen, R. Falkstrom, M. Falkstrom, J. Boardman