Ocean Road among state’s best for STEM education

Ocean Road Primary School have been awarded for finishing as one of six state finalists in the primary schools’ category at the 2018 Governor’s School STEM Awards ceremony.

The Dawesville school was recognised as a leading STEM educator in Western Australia on Monday afternoon.

They faced strong competition from other finalists with Brookman Primary School in Langford taking out top honours.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) is a set of academic principles designed to teach the next generation of students a number of transferable skills that can be used in a modern workplace.

Established in 2015, the annual awards recognise WA schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, teaching, collaboration and engagement in STEM education.

The judges visited Ocean Road Primary School, as well as five other finalists’ schools, during October before the award winners were announced at the November 26 ceremony, held at Government House.

Comet Bay College in Secret Harbour was awarded runner-up for the secondary category and took home the Meritorious Leadership Award and a $1,000 prize.

Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery said STEM was fast becoming a crucial element of the school curriculum.

“It is important we build strong STEM skills in our students to prepare them for the jobs of the future,” she said.

“Schools can develop and foster a lifelong passion for STEM learning.”

WA Governor Kim Beazley thanked everyone involved in the 2018 Governor’s School STEM Awards.

“I am proud to see our Western Australian schools place a strong and enduring importance on the value of STEM education,” he said.

“I would like to acknowledge all the schools that entered the awards this year, and to congratulate the finalists, runners-up and winners on their ongoing journeys in STEM education.

“I thank the two judging panels, chaired by Dr Ken Michael AC and Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO.”

For more information on the awards, visit www.scitech.org.au.