Peel Football League 2008: The year that was | photos

It was the year of the Falcon in the Peel Football League back in 2008.

The blue and gold dominated the season to finish as premiers, while captain Rod Tregenza stole the show in footy headlines across the state with a monstrous 223 goals (27 of which came in a single game against the Harvey Bulls).

See more:

So heavy was South Mandurah’s dominance, they annihilated the record for biggest win in a grand final with a booming 137-point victory over Mundijong.

The record margin previously stood at 80, when Harvey dominated Rockingham in 2005.

Mundijong did have some joy on the year though, taking out the reserves flag while Rockingham won the colts.

In the individual honours, it was Rams player Matthew Ware that took out the Ross Elliott Medal, ahead of Waroona’s Matthew Giumelli.

The 2008 season was the last time the Harvey Bulls would be seen in the Peel Football League, with the club moving to the South West Football League the following season.