PFNL: Peel netballers honoured at awards night

Pinjarra Tigers netballer Kara Wogan-Browne had her fantastic season in the Peel Football and Netball League honoured when she was named the most valuable player for the league division on Monday night.

The star Tiger piled up 17 votes across a stellar 2017 on her way to the league’s highest accolade, edging out Baldivis’ Dinah George, who finished as runner-up on 12 votes.

The duo were just two of several to be honoured on the night.

In the reserves, it was Waroona’s Bec Flegg getting the gong for MVP with 15 votes, while Mandurah’s Natasha Loisel and South Mandurah’s Kameron Bazzo tied on nine for runner-up.

Pinjarra picked up a second MVP when Renae McShane took out the top award in the open grade, polling 16 votes to narrowly pass Centrals’ Sarah Heelis.

The league also named it’s netball all-star sides on the night.

In the top division, MVP Wogan-Browne was joined by runner-up George, Jena Daniel (Pinjarra), Josie Jones (South Mandurah), Emily Sharp (Centrals), Nikita Little (Baldivis) and Myra Ugle (Waroona) to make up the all-star squad.

Flegg and Loisel led the way in the reserves all-stars, alongside Mary-Jane George (Baldivis), Samantha Apsee (Baldivis), Heidi Meyza (Baldivis), Cassey Rayment (South Mandurah) and Zoe Smallacombe (Centrals).

Leading goal-scorers also picked up their awards, with Hannah Storer (Pinjarra) taking out the league’s trophy with a whopping 550.

Bazzo led the way in the reserves with 294 while Centrals’ Sarah Lough took the open with 213.